Dora Anne Little Service Award

This award celebrates students who have excelled in service to the campus and the community extending beyond the classroom.

The Award

The Dora Anne Little Award is given annually to a Duke student, undergraduate or graduate, who has excelled in service to the campus and community that extends beyond the classroom. The award, a one-time prize of up to $1,500, recognizes contributions to the campus and community, with a preference toward work that addresses issues related to women in society.

This award is endowed through the Council on Women’s Studies, an advisory board of graduates, administrators, parents and friends who provide ideas, leadership, and direction to Gender, Sexuality & Feminist Studies at Duke, as well as identify resources to insure the program's continued growth. Dora Anne Little is a former member of the Council. The award is one of several gifts that have been given to GSF in order to recognize and reward the accomplishments of individuals who have worked to improve the climate for women at all levels of University life. 

Selection criteria for the award include:

  • a history of community service,
  • experience in extending classroom work into a broader community,
  • an ability to build consensus for social change, and
  • commitment to connecting academic studies to social action. 

Winners will be asked to report on the use of these funds and their work.

Application Procedure

Students may self-nominate or be nominated for this award.

  • a 2-3 page letter addressed to the Dora Anne Little Award Committee that identifies the ways in which the applicant fits the four award criteria;
  • two letters of recommendation, addressed to the Committee, describing the applicant's suitability for the award;
  • a current curriculum vitae or resume outlining education, work experiences, related experiences, and involvement with women-centered issues.


  • Kita Douglas (English) for her contribution to local organizations like Walltown Children's Theater
  • Dana Raphael (GSF & Political Science) for community service with a focus on gender violence prevention.


  • Cara Peterson (Women's Studies & Public Policy, 2015) for "College As Told by an Undergrad"


  • Sunny Frothingham (Women's Studies & Public Policy, 2014) for "The Trouble with Gendered Housing"


  • Ashley Tsai, Trinity '13 Spring
  • Sharma Neha, Trinity '13 Fall


  • Sunhay You (English, 2013) for "Develle Dish Blog" and "Women in Need Center"
  • Precious Graham (Sociology & African and African American Studies, 2012) for "The Beautiful Project" and "Justice Matters"


  • Song Kim (Women's Studies & Chemistry, 2011) for "Intimate Citizenship in the Transnation: Filipina Migrants in South Korea"