Seventh Annual Feminist Theory Workshop

The Seventh Annual Feminist Theory Workshop offers a unique opportunity for scholars to engage in sustained dialogue about feminist theory as a scholarly domain of inquiry. The “workshop” approach of this conference requires active participation of both presenters and attendees.



Robyn Wiegman

Professor of Literature and Women's Studies
Duke University

Martin F. Manalansan IV

Associate Professor of Anthropology and Asian American Studies
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

José Esteban Muñoz

Professor of Performance Studies
Tisch School of the Arts, New York University

Elizabeth A. Povinelli

Professor of Anthropology and Gender Studies
Columbia University


Duke University Co-Sponsors: The Office of the Dean of Arts and Sciences; the program in the study of sexualities; the Sociology Department; Romance Studies; The English Department;  Asian and Middle Eastern Studies; The Department of Classical Studies; Duke University Center for International Studies.

Institutional Co-Sponsors: The Centre for Gender, Sexuality and Writing at the University of Kent; Women’s Studies at Appalachian State University; Gender and Women's Studies at the University of California at Berkeley; Programa Universitario de Estudios de Género, Ciudad Universitaria. México; Department of Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies at Emory University; Studies of Women, Gender, and Sexuality at Harvard University; Women's and Gender Studies Program at North Carolina State University; Department of Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies at The Ohio State University; Women's Studies Department at the University of Michigan; Department of Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies at the University of Minnesota; Department of Gender, Women and Sexuality Studies at the University of Washington; Women and Gender Studies at Wake Forest University; Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies at Miami University of Ohio; and Women and Gender Studies, Arizona State University.

Seventh Annual Feminist Theory Workshop
March 22, 2013 to March 23, 2013
Duke University


Closing Roundtable: Allison, DeFrantz, Ross, Weiss
Keynote: Robyn Wiegman
Keynote: Martin F. Manalansan IV
Keynote: Elizabeth Povinelli
Keynote: José Esteban Muñoz
Welcome and Opening Session: Anne Allison