Eighth Annual Feminist Theory Workshop

The Eighth Annual Feminist Theory Workshop offers a unique opportunity for scholars to engage in sustained dialogue about feminist theory as a scholarly domain of inquiry. The “workshop” approach of this conference requires active participation of both presenters and attendees.



Karen Barad

Professor of Feminist Studies, Philosophy, and History of Consciousness
University of California at Santa Cruz

Penelope Deutscher

Professor of Philosophy
Northwestern University

Karen Engle

Minerva House Drysdale Regents Chair in Law
University of Texas at Austin

Alondra Nelson

Professor of Sociology
Columbia University


Duke University Co-Sponsors: Asian & Middle Eastern Studies; The English Department; The Mellon Project in Science Studies; The Office Dean of Arts and Sciences; Franklin Hope Institute for the Humanities.

Institutional Co-Sponsors: Department of Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies at Emory University; Institute for Research and Education on Women & Gender at University at Buffalo, SUNY; Women’s Gender, and Sexualities Studies Program at Purdue University; The Centre for Gender, Sexuality and Writing at University of Kent; Department of Gender Studies at University of Indiana; Women’s and Gender Studies at Southern Methodist University; Gender, Women’s, and Sexuality at University of Iowa; Gender and Women’s Studies at University of Arizona; Institute for Gender Studies at Raboud University Nijmegen; Women’s and Gender Studies at Clark University; Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies at Miami University of Ohio; and SKOK at University of Bergen.

Eighth Annual Feminist Theory Workshop
March 21, 2014 to March 22, 2014
Duke University


Closing Roundtable: Clare, Mortensen, Harkins, Khanna
Keynote: Karen Engle, with Opening Remarks by Ranjana Khanna
Keynote: Alondra Nelson, with Opening Remarks by Priscilla Wald
Keynote: Karen Barad, with Opening Remarks by Ara Wilson
Keynote: Penelope Deutscher, with Opening Remarks by Ranjana Khanna